Nine Patch Nosegay

nine-patch nosegay quilt

I love vintage 30’s quilt patterns! This beauty, called “Nine-patch Nosegay,” has a copyright date of 1937. It was published by the Mountain Mist batting company, which for many years included quilt patterns on the wrappers of their batting packages. The pattern is currently available from Fabricshack.com for $3.50.

I found a photo (above) of what the quilt looks like when it is made up in the color choices called for in the original directions. Gorgeous! And the grey background, geometric feel, and use of solids makes it seem surprisingly modern.

My stash has quite a few odds and ends from Bonnie & Camille’s ‘Vintage Modern’ and ‘Ruby’ lines . . . I really love them, but had no specific project in mind. I think borrowing the basic applique block from this pattern might be a fun way to use some of those. Besides, since I’ve never really tried applique until recently, I like the idea that I’d only have to make twelve of the blocks. That sounds totally doable!

Not sure what I’ll end up doing for the alternating blocks, though. I’m going for a cheerful, informal look, and I think the pattern given for the alternating blocks would overwhelm my applique blocks. I’d really like to incorporate more of the fabrics from my stash, but I’m afraid even a simple nine-patch or four-patch for those alternating blocks might overbalance the applique. I may end up going with the red-and-white pindot fabric, as shown.

(The image below is taken from quiltindex.org, and shows the basic template pieces, layout, and suggestions for color choices and quilting. Click on it to enlarge for better viewing, if you wish.)

nine-patch nosegay

One thought on “Nine Patch Nosegay”

Leave a Reply

